Bhagavad Gita Chapter 3 Verse 6

Discussion in 'Lord Krishna' started by Bhakta Sanjay, Dec 8, 2015.

  1. Bhakta Sanjay

    Bhakta Sanjay New Member

    People who can bring about the greatest social changes are those who have a spiritual foundation in their lives. So if you want to make a difference in the world, you have to have a spiritual base.

    Materialism habituates us to seeking happiness by changing our externals new dress, new car, new job, new house, even new spouse.

    When we come to spirituality, we often carry on this materialistic habit of changing our externals. Of course, authentic spirituality does require some external changes, like giving up immoral materialistic activities and adopting the practices of yogic discipline.

    But the essential spiritual change is internal the change of our mentality from materialistic to spiritualistic. As the highest spiritual reality is Krishna, the most complete spiritual change is the redirection of the heart from matter to Krishna. This redirection is best brought about by bhakti-yoga, the universal spiritual process that can be practiced in all situations.

    However, some people, due to their materialistic obsession for changing externals, may prematurely make the external change of adopting the renounced order. They may mistakenly equate the external change of becoming a renunciate with the internal change of becoming an advanced spiritualist, thereby jeopardizing their spiritual prospects.

    That’s why the Bhagavad-gita (03.06) warns that those who merely change their activity by becoming renunciates but continue with the mentality of longing for worldly pleasures are hypocrites. They cheat not only the world but also themselves – they deprive themselves of the spiritual happiness that comes by cultivating the mentality of constantly remembering Krishna.

    Of course, the renounced order is a respected part of devotional culture. It provides serious seekers the invaluable opportunity to focus singularly on spiritual activities that help cultivate a devotional mentality. However, what makes those seekers spiritually advanced is not just their renunciation, but their devotion that is facilitated by their renunciation.

    And that devotion can be cultivated by all of us by changing our mentality, irrespective of whether we change or don’t change our activity.

    Bhagavad Gita Chapter 3 Verse 6
    karmendriyāṇi saṁyamya
    ya āste manasā smaran
    indriyārthān vimūḍhātmā
    mithyācāraḥ sa ucyate

    karma-indriyāṇi—the five working sense organs; saṁyamya—controlling; yaḥ—anyone who; āste—remains; manasā—by mind; smaran—thinking; indriya-arthān—sense objects; vimūḍha—foolish; ātmā—soul; mithyā-ācāraḥ—pretender; saḥ—he; ucyate—is called.

    Lord Krishna Said: "One who restrains the senses and organs of action, but whose mind dwells on sense objects, certainly deludes himself and is called a pretender."

    There are many pretenders who refuse to work in Kṛṣṇa consciousness but make a show of meditation, while actually dwelling within the mind upon sense enjoyment. Such pretenders may also speak on dry philosophy in order to bluff sophisticated followers, but according to this verse these are the greatest cheaters.

    For sense enjoyment one can act in any capacity of the social order, but if one follows the rules and regulations of his particular status, he can make gradual progress in purifying his existence. But he who makes a show of being a yogī, while actually searching for the objects of sense gratification, must be called the greatest cheater, even though he sometimes speaks of philosophy. His knowledge has no value because the effects of such a sinful man's knowledge are taken away by the illusory energy of the Lord. Such a pretender's mind is always impure, and therefore his show of yogic meditation has no value whatsoever.

    Joy can only be experienced when we offer our love to Krishna.

    A devotee is very forgiving and tolerant of others but is very strict and determined with himself guarding against Maya.

    Please accept my humble obeisances

    All glories to Srila Gurudeva ...
    All glories to Srila Prabhupada ...

    Always think of the Lotus Feet of Lord Krishna and you will find no difficulties in executing the tasks allotted to you by Krishna.

    Chant these names with love and you will feel the ecstasy:

    Hare Krishna, Hare Krishna, Krishna Krishna, Hare Hare
    Hare Rama, Hare Rama, Rama Rama, Hare Hare ...

    हरे कृष्ण हरे कृष्ण कृष्ण कृष्ण हरे हरे || हरे राम हरे राम राम राम हरे हरे||

    Hare Krishna ... Jay Jagannath ...

    ~~ Bhakta Sanjay.

    Please comment, like & share with your nears and dears ...
    iandkrsna, Hindu and (deleted member) like this.
  2. iandkrsna

    iandkrsna New Member

    In the Bhagavad Geeta there are four varnas, namely, the brahmanas (priests and intellectuals), the ksatriyas (warriors and statesmen), the vaisyas (businessmen and farmers) and the sudras (laborers and servants). There are also four standard asramas, namely brahmacarya (student life), grhastha (householder), vanaprastha (retired) and sannyasa (renounced).

Share This Page