What are the 4 stages of life as per Hinduism?

Discussion in 'Ask Questions' started by Sheena4, Jul 29, 2015.

  1. Sheena4

    Sheena4 New Member

    Putting it briefly, the four important stages of the life cycle as recognized by Hinduism are:

    i) Brahmacharya- The life as a student
    ii) Grihasta- The housemaker
    iii) Vaanaprasta-The peaceful soul, mediative seeker
    iv) Sanyaasa- The one seeking Moksha

    Anyone having detailed information?
  2. Punit Garg

    Punit Garg New Member

    Bit of correction
    Vanaprastha (retired) and Sannyasa (renunciation).
    Details not known
  3. Senthil

    Senthil Active Member Staff Member

    Sometimes the sannyas stage is confused with taking sannyas vows. Taking sannyas vows is a lifetime vow at an early age to take the path of a sannyasin, or lifetime monk. Only other sannyasins can initiate a person into the sannyasin life. So we have two paths, the sannyasin path, and the householder path. Traditionally the approximate ages for the 4 stages are birth-24, 25-48, 49-72, 1nd 72 onward. Those in the grihastha stage supports the other 3.

Share This Page